Updated: Oct 28

The dust has settled and the local election results are all in. For Miami-Dade County Mayor run-off, it's Commissioner Estebon Bovo and Commissioner Daniella Levine Cava. The Miami-Dade County Mayoral race is nonpartisan yet the difference in the candidate's position is clearly highlighted by Republican and Democratic views - Independent Civilian Panel for Police Oversight, Transportation, County Contractor Pay, and so forth. This race will be held on November 3, 2020 and will be a very closely watched race.

Vote by mail and early voting numbers were at a record high for this primary election. Republicans showed up at the polls and Democrats voted-by-mail which traditionally would be the other way around. For Miami-Dade County Democrats, the primary election vote-by-mail numbers exceeded in this election by 74,126 ballots cast.  In the 2018 Miami-Dade County primary election, early vote and vote-by-mail ballots totaled 185,803. This is compared to the 2020 Miami-Dade County primary election, early vote and vote-by-mail ballots totaled 331,026.

Miami-Dade's other hotly contested races were all the talk for the past few weeks and they ended on Tuesday, August 18, 2020.  Well some ended. The election department has now certified all races and here are the winners.

Primary Election Winners U.S Representative District 20  Alcee Hastings U.S Representative District 24 Frederica Wilson State Senator District 35 Shevrin Jones State Representative District 102 Felicia Simone Robinson State Representative District 108 Dotie Joseph State Representative District 127 Kevin Chambliss Miami-Dade Commissioner District 1 Oliver Gilbert General Election Runoff Candidates for November 3, 2020: Miami-Dade Commissioner District 3 Keon Hardemon Gepsie Metellus Miami-Dade Commissioner District 9 Elvis Maldonado Kionne McGhee Miami-Dade School Board Member District 9 Dennis C. Moss Luisa Santos Miami Gardens Mayor Rodney Harris Sharon Pritchett Miami Gardens Council Member Seat 1 Shannon Campbell Robert Stephens Miami Gardens Council Member Seat 3 Shannan 'Lady' Ighodaro Patricia 'Pat' Wright Miami Gardens Council Member Seat 5 Linda Julien Andre Williams







  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2020 by Hip Rock Star Media